Newsfeed UK

Fujifilm Shorts 2012 nominees unveiled

Divide Line

Tuesday May 22, 2012

shorts logo Click HERE to download as a high res file (0.02MB)

Fujifilm Shorts 2012 nominees unveiled

Fujifilm has announced the 10 finalists in its Fujifilm Shorts 2012 short film competition.
They are:

DoP- David Woodman
Director - David Simpson
Producer - Sarah Senior
Writer - Krysty Wilson-Cairns

DoP -Daniel Chaytor
Director - Elisa Cepedal
Producer - Diego Lopez Alvarez
Writer -Elisa Cepedal

DoP - Mark Nutkins
Director - Sam Hoare
Producers - Oliver Roskill and Lucan Toh
Writers - Sam Hoare and Lucan Toh

DoP - Brian Fawcett
Director - Ebele Tate
Producer - Emily Mayson
Writer - Ebele Tate

DoP - Urszula Pontikos
Director - Samuel Abrahams
Producer - Beau Gordon
Writer -Ella Hickson

DoP - Andrew Alderslade
Director -Remy Bazerque
Producers -Remy Bazerque and Andrew Alderslade
Writer -Remy Bazerque

DoP - Franklin Dow
Director -Orlando Von Einsiedel
Producer - Orlando Von Einsiedel
Writer - Katie Bryer

DoP -Rina Yang
Director - Chiara Maranon
Producers - Paco Poch, Juan Soto and Luke Deller
Writer - Chiara Maranon

DoP -Taina Galis
Director -Fyzal Boulifa
Producer - Gavin Humphries
Writer - Fyzal Boulifa

DoP - Adam Etherington
Director - Nick Ray Rutter
Producer -Emory Ruegg
Writer - Nick Ray Rutter

These films now go forward to the final judging from where the overall winners will be chosen by a select panel of film industry professionals. As in previous years, two prizes will be awarded - 'Best Film' and 'Best Cinematography', all nominated films will be judged for both prizes. The winners will be announced at the Rushes Soho Shorts Festival awards ceremony on 19 July 2012.

The award, now in its fourth year, had one category with an open brief and all submissions were shot on Fujifilm Motion Picture film stock.

There is an impressive list of prizes up for grabs, the full list of prizes is:

2,000 worth of Fujifilm Motion Picture stock of your choice in either 16mm or 35mm.

A 'Rushes Package' courtesy of Technicolor - including film processing (a maximum of either 8,000ft of 16mm or 6,000ft of 35mm), a one light transfer, sync sound and Digi-Beta deliverable.
Technicolor Creative Services Soho will provide a print of the two winning films on Fujifilm's new show print stock, Eterna-CP 3514DI. This service will include Laser Film Recording services onto 35mm Fujifilm RDI Intermediate film from the winning film's tape or data masters.

A 35mm or 16mm Camera and Dolly hire package courtesy of Panavision.

A Lighting hire package courtesy of Panalux.

A Studio hire package courtesy of Island Studios, London.

A Final Audio and Colour Grading package courtesy of Rain Post Production.

A Main and End Titles design and creation package courtesy of Fugitive Studios.

500 worth of Tiffen Filters from the London Filter Company.

An insurance package worth 1,500 courtesy of Towergate Camerasure.

There are additional prizes for the cinematographers of each of the two winning films - The cinematographers of the 'Best Film' and 'Best Cinematography' will each win one free ticket to the Camerimage, International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography, in Poland, December 2012. The prize includes flights, accommodation and industry festival passes, courtesy of Fujifilm.

The British Society of Cinematographers (BSC) will welcome both of the winning cinematographers of the 'Best Film' and 'Best Cinematography' awards, as guests of Fujifilm, to all BSC social and technical events for a period of one year.

The two winning films will be considered for a worldwide distribution deal with Future Shorts.

A selection of nominated films will be screened as part of the festival programme at the Rushes Short Film Festival in London in July 2012.

The two winning films will be screened as part of the festival programme at the Born Shorts International Short Film Festival 2012 in Bornholm, Denmark.

The two winning films will be screened as part of the festival programme in Cannes for Cannes In A Van 2013 and in London at the Screen Social.

The two winning filmmakers will also have a free pass to Hay Film School's workshops at the 4th Festival of British Cinema (2012) in Hay-on-Wye, where their winning films will also be screened as part of the festival programme.

Both winning films will be screened at the 2012 Isle of Wight Short Film Festival.

One year of free subscription to British Cinematographer Magazine.

The winners will also be featured on Fujifilm's Exposure website with extensive PR coverage from Fujifilm Motion Picture.

A limited edition promotional DVD showcasing all nominated short films will be available from Fujifilm Motion Picture from late July. For further information on Fujifilm Shorts go to


* Note: this news release is issued electronically and will not be duplicated with a posted copy

Jerry Deeney
Marketing Manager
Motion Picture Film
Fujifilm UK Ltd
t: +44 (0)20 3040 0400
m: +44 (0)7747 127869

[Return to Press Office Home Page]

Divide Line